This past Wednesday I did two things that I haven’t done in a while: go fishing and drive in my car.

 

Believe it or not, it has been about 8 months since I’ve last driven my car as it has been sitting away in some garage waiting for some taxi company’s insurance policy to fix up thanks to some jack ass…. (read all about said jackass HERE). Yeah, Thailand kind of sucks when it comes to getting things done in a timely matter. As for fishing it had been about 35 days (I think) since I’ve let the line touch the water.

 

To get back into it all I decided to get to the new and improved Pilot 111 barramundi pond! Not only does it hold barramundi and snakehead now but it’s also now home to more species such as the Mekong giant catfish, striped snakehead, featherback, pacu and rock catfish!

 

I think that fishing can sometimes be addictive the same way gambling is addictive. Usually when you are about to quit, something slightly positive happens just to draw you in a little more. I had my very own little slot machine moment learning how to fly fish at the Pilot pond just recently.

As I stood there in the muddy lawn of the fishing pond getting my shoes all dirty while getting blisters on my hand from continuously casting the fly rod back and forth I had to deal with a morning of no bites. My very low experience on the fly rod probably had something to do with the no bites situation.

But then…. Just when I thought that I was about to give up fly fishing my line got tight. It was like waiting for a phone call all day only to get it just when you take your pants off to go to the bathroom: I was not prepared and in my surprise I snapped the tippet line and lost my only solid bite all day. However, the excitement was more than enough to convince me to head back out to the area to do it all over again…

 

It’s good to be back!

 

For more information regarding the new and improved Pilot 111 click HERE.

Comments
  1. jw says:

    Perhaps you are out of practice. Need to get your mojo back.

Leave a Reply

