Count-down to ocean fishing adventure

Posted: December 3, 2009 in Uncategorized

It’s going to be Thailand’s National Father’s Day this Saturday the 5th of Decmber, meaning that there’s going to be an extra day to satiate my angling addiction. And, even though I’ll be having to submit my work earlier thanks to the shortened work week, it’s really not going to stop me from having fun… WOO HOO! (that was my happiness scream in text format).

Here are the plans:

Saturday – wake up early and head off to Pilot 111 fishing pond 39km outside of Bangkok to practice some lure fishing for some giant snakeheads and barramundi with lures that I have recently purchased online. By the evening my sister and I will be treating dad to a dinner buffet at Le Meridien hotel’s Bamboo Chic restaurant.

Sunday and Monday – head out with three buddies to Satthahib to meet Tor (ต่อ). Tor will be our fishing guide and he will be taking us out overnight to do some deep-sea fishing. The first half of the night will be for squid fishing and we’ll be using those live squiddies as live bait to catch some tasty fruits of the sea. I’m not sure what we’ll catch asI’m not too informed about ocean fish species but I’ll be sure to look it up if and when I catch them. I’ll be bringing some sharp sushi knives to practice my sashimi skillz since Tor told me over the phone how the fish variety are perfect to be eaten raw.

Comments
  1. Rob says:

    Exciting! Sounds like a great way to spend a father’s day!

Leave a Reply

